From high school to college – taking that next step

(EL RENO, OK) For senior Jacob McQuown it’s a dream come true. To continue with his football career on a scholarship to Northwestern Oklahoma State University.

The 6’1 offensive guard was one of El Reno High School seniors who recently earned a spot on the 2017 All-District 5A-1 team.

“I am really nervous, but overall I am really happy because it’s the next step in my life. I am really looking forward to going to Northwestern and continue with my football career,” McQuown said. “I chose Northwestern over SWOSU because their football program is really nice, I really liked it, it’s a really nice school and it’s where I wanted to be.”

McQuown, a three-year starter, blocked for an offense which rolled up 2,004 yards and threw for 1,729 for a total of 3,732 yards.

“Jacob was dominant and was one of the best offensive linemen in the state,” El Reno High School football coach Chuck Atchison said.

McQuown said it’s all a process, starting with academics and all the way to the football field, “Academics for sure matters. That’s what comes first is school. Without school I wouldn’t be able to even play football, and ultimately that’s what matters the most. Honestly it’s all a process, grinding everyday, playing your heart out, laying it all out on the field. That’s why I am here right now because I played my heart out and grinded it out every day.”

IMG_2356
Jacob McQuown is surrounded by his family during his signing with Northwestern Oklahoma State University.

With the full support of his family, McQuown also gives credit to Coach Atchison for how far he has come.

“Coach Atchison, he has been an amazing mentor and coach, he has molded me into the man I am right now because without him I wouldn’t even have the opportunity to go to this school. I knew going into this I had a good support group, but he has been there the whole time, helping me because he actually reached out to these coaches, recruited for me and sent my films out to these coaches. Simply an amazing guy,” McQuown said.

McQuown is the son of Paula Levi and David McQuown, and the grandson of Jerry Levi.

IMG_2371

Leave a comment